August Wrap-Up: We love a post with a schedule and a format

Why hello, everybody. (Feel free to read in the Michael Scott voice I was hearing as I typed it, although I’m not sure if that’s a real quote. Honestly might be from the bloopers. #Truefan.)

It’s been a few weeks, but at this point that’s par for the course on this blog so I’m going to go ahead and not apologize. That’s right! I won’t repent. Not an ounce of regret in me. Fight me on it.

August was a weird month, but it’s also an over month that is no longer happening and that means it’s time to wrap it up. So. Here is me doing that.

Let’s get into it.

Screen Shot 2018-01-28 at 1.51.59 PM

Screen Shot 2018-03-04 at 2.53.02 PM

I don’t have even a little bit of an idea of a memory of what these were, so this should be interesting.

AUGUST GOALS

READ MORE ✗

POST ON BOOKSTAGRAM ✓

ENJOY THE LAST OF YOUR SUMMER ✓✓

READ AT LEAST ONE CLASSIC ✓

TIME WITH FRIENDS ✓✓✓

BLOG BETTER ✗

WRITE AT LEAST ONE REVIEW ✓✓✓✓✓

FOCUS ON SCHOOL ✓

APPLY TO INTERNSHIPS?? ✗ish

BE HAPPIER!!! ✓

Oof. You can really tell I was worried about my own mental health with these easy-ass goals.

Goals for September

Read at least 8 books

Post at least twice on bookstagram

Blog post at least twice

Focus on school

Apply to jobs and internships

Read at least one classic

Stop being so hard on yourself, loser!!

Screen Shot 2018-01-28 at 1.51.59 PM

Screen Shot 2018-04-03 at 1.19.07 PM

It is school time!!! Gang, it is with a lightened heart and a joyous soul that I must inform you…we are truly back on our bullsh*t.

We are still in the early days of basic discomfort and strangeness in new classes and also ya girl needs to Get A Job but overall I am feeling delighted. Really thriving. Outside of the usual me-being-impossibly-hard-on-myself/nothing-ever-being-good-enough bit.

But that’s typical.

Anyway! Hopefully this time next month I’ll be settled and employed. Also it’ll be my birth month and I’ll be obsessed with myself and expect you all to follow suit.

Yay! School and autumn and good stuff! Ignore the stressors until they go away, even if it means pretending that ignoring them will make them better in spite of the fact that it will probably/certainly exacerbate them!

Also, I didn’t read for sh*t in August. I had a good but busy month of spending real time with real people in real life, okay!!

Screen Shot 2018-01-28 at 1.51.59 PM

Screen Shot 2018-03-04 at 2.50.38 PM


1. Cold Comfort Farm by Stella Gibbons

Read: July 31 – August 1 🌷🌿🌷 Rating: 4.5 stars

Cold Comfort FarmSingle classic for the month: check.

This is one of the last books I read for my Novel into Film class and guess the hell what!! I loved it so much. It is so funny and well-written and shdgahjsdga. It’s like if Jane Austen was really out there with her acerbic/dry wit and parodied herself.

It’s a dream and a half, basically. Remind me in a year or two to reread the living sh*t out of it.

And plz also remind me who Stella Gibbons is so I don’t just read this book by her and stop forever like a FOOL.



2. In Paris with You by Clementine Beauvais

Read: August 6-8 🌷🌿🌷 Rating: 3.5 stars

In Paris With YouI won this book in a Goodreads giveaway!!! Throwback to when I used to be constantly entering them and also constantly winning because I’m incredibly powerful.

Good times. Free stuff.

Anyway I didn’t realize when I was entering that this is a Poetry Book, otherwise I probably/definitely would not have entered. But here we are, and it was pretty good, except that OH MY GOD THE MALE CHARACTER SUCKS SO BAD I WANT TO SMASH HIS FACE INTO LA TOUR EIFFEL.

Threw in some minor French flair. You know. To fit the theme.



3. Shoot the Piano Player by David Goodis

Read: August 8-9 🌷🌿🌷 Rating: 3 stars

Shoot the Piano PlayerOh wait, I actually read two classics in August!! Wow. Thanks, class.

This was the last book we read for my summer course and also Not My Favorite. To be fair it’d be rough for any book to follow Cold Comfort Farm, but this book did not do a very good job of it even by a softened standard.

The movie was better, which isn’t that hot of a take because the movie is French New Wave and Truffaut and all that. But still. I’m a book blogger, so it’s supposed to take a real bad book and a real good film to make me say sh*t like that.

(Kindly pretend I haven’t said the exact same thing here and here and 800 other times in the last 4-6 business months.)



4. Girl Against the Universe by Paula Stokes

Read: August 7-12 🌷🌿🌷 Rating: 2 stars

Girl Against the UniverseOh boy I was not into this at ALL, let me tell you.

But also this book is one of those books that some people are really into for reasons slightly more significant than mine for disliking it. A classic “this book spoke to my anxiety and made my life feel more valid and manageable” to my “this felt annoying!”

So if you like this book, like. Good on you. I’m not trying to take that away from you. DON’T LET ANYONE TAKE THAT AWAY FROM YOU!!!

But also this book be annoyinggggggg boi.



5. Not if I See You First by Eric Lindstrom

Read: August 12-14 🌷🌿🌷 Rating: 1.5 stars

Not If I See You FirstThis is a book that I thought I disliked in a kind of harmless way (see above). Like, ah, yeah. Not for me, but evidently for a lot of people!

And then I looked at my notes and I was like “Oh. I took notes. That’s never a good sign.”

And then I wrote the review and it was a whole ass rant and I was like oh I actually really did not like that at all!!! Who knew.

Anyway. Read me rant here, if somehow you haven’t gotten more than enough of me ranting for this lifetime.



6. Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

Read: August 16-22 🌷🌿🌷 Rating: 4 stars

Gone GirlAHHHHHHH.

Oh my f*cking GOD I love Gillian Flynn so much and is there anyone better at writing women than her????? Maybe a hot take because so many of her women are f*cked up and damaged but oh my god I cannot stress enough how refreshing that is when 99% of the female characters I read are perfect interchangeable calla lilies who just arrived in the world fully formed and haven’t been so much as stepped on the whole time even as they lead existences defined by men, who are notorious for stepping on women if you haven’t heard!!!

I mean. Sharp Objects is better. But still.



Wow. I only read 6 books. I can’t even remember the last time I read so little.

But you know what, I had the best mental health month I’ve had in a hot second and that’s a liiiiiiittle more important. Hot take.

Anyway, all of that makes for an average of…….

As always, drumroll please……………….

3.083!

Meh.

Screen Shot 2018-01-28 at 1.51.59 PM

Screen Shot 2018-03-04 at 3.17.32 PM

Well, I only posted twice in August. So here are those.

1. TO ALL THE BOYS I’VE LOVED BEFORE SERIES REVIEW: THE EMOTIONAL ROLLERCOASTER OF A LIFETIME

2. JUNE AND JULY COMBINATION WRAP-UP: YES, MISTAKES WERE MADE

And still, the same post haunts me…coming in at #2 most viewed for the month:

1. THE LIGHT WE LOST REVIEW

Truly I do wish this post would just die already, and let me die with it.

Screen Shot 2018-01-28 at 1.51.59 PM

So! August! It’s over, we did it, etc etc! In fact it’s been over for juuuuust under 2 weeks so. Old news a bit. Please just bear with me guys, I’m trying my best.

Shortest wrap up post I’ve ever written: Check. On every level.

Screen Shot 2018-01-04 at 11.25.22 AMHow was your August? What was the best book you read last month?

How’s the start of your September? What are you reading now?

46 thoughts on “August Wrap-Up: We love a post with a schedule and a format

  1. my1stchapter says:

    I NEVER CLICKED ON A POST SO QUICKLY! ive missed you and your iconic sass 😭😭

    yayay for self care, but not so much for having to be an actual participant in life and growing up, ew.

    you still managed to have a great month with all that👏👏 and omg i LOVED gone girl, even though it messed with my brain and gave me trust issues but now i NEED TO CHECK OUT SHARP OBJECTS ASAP

    good luck with september!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. erickaonpaper says:

    Gosh darn, you are funny. I’m about to read your review on Not if I See You First because I just ordered the book, and I’m sure your review will help make my decision on whether or not I’ll read it. Yes, I trust you with my life.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ilsa @ A Whisper Of Ink says:

    Good luck on September goals!! That happens to me so much. i’ll be like “that book wasn’t so bad” and then write a review and…realise i hated it. it happened to me with i was born for this oops. (1 star) I really want to read Gone Girl, so glad u enjoy her books!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • emmareadstoomuch says:

      ahhh thank you thank you ❤ honestly i write myself into opinions all?? the time??

      ooooh you should totally read Gone Girl! and then fall in love with it plz

      hope your september is off to a lovely start and then keeps being lovely and so on and so on

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Bridget says:

    I love how 6 books is little to you, haha! August was my birthday month so mine was FABULOUUUSSS!

    My September has been alright. I like the “aesthetic” of fall so I’ve transformed my room to match.

    I plan on reading Sharp Objects soon so I’m glad to hear it’s even better than Gone Girl!

    Best of luck in your job hunting endeavors!

    Liked by 1 person

    • emmareadstoomuch says:

      OOOOH HAPPY BELATED!!!!! so exciting. i love a birthday. hope yours was excellent!!!

      also oooooh at the idea of an autumn-aesthetic room. i am liking this mental image.

      thank you thank you!!! i love sharp objects but it is creepy and dark and may mess up your brain so it isn’t for everyone but god i pray that u like it

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Lily @ Sprinkles of Dreams says:

    YOUR AVERAGE RATING WAS SO HIGH, EMMA!!

    Also, I’m super happy to hear that your mental health was much better, that’s really much more important than reading tons of books.

    And whenever you tell me that my blog is beautiful, I side-eye you majorly, and think “look who’s talking”. Just so you know.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Aimee (Aimee, Always) says:

    Welcome back! Good luck finding a job–that’s terrifying, at least for me. 😂 Anyway, I’m sad you didn’t like Girl Against the Universe! I’ve read two books by this author and liked them well enough, so I was kind of looking forward to that one. Anyway, I’m a new follower; I adore your blogging voice. You’re so adorable and genuine! 😍

    – Aimee @ Aimee, Always

    Liked by 1 person

    • emmareadstoomuch says:

      ahhh thank you so nice! the job search is genuinely terrifying, it’s true. also i didn’t love Girl Against the Universe, but i didn’t like…hate it. and i didn’t dislike it for any huge reason?? also most people really like it, i hope you do too!!!

      Like

  7. Norrie says:

    Good luck on the job-front! 🙂
    Gillian Flynn is awesome! Gone Girl was so good! Pretty much the first book i read with that kind of premise and unlikeable main characters.

    I had to google Michael Scott, and then i realised i have no idea what he sounds like. I really need to watch some Office 😀 Saw the first few episodes, but don’t even remember it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • emmareadstoomuch says:

      yes to the gillian flynn love! the way she writes women is just amazing. there aren’t a lot of dark/damaged female characters i think, compared to the number of similar male characters, so i love that she writes women the way she does!! also i could just read thousands of pages about Amy from Gone Girl.

      omg yesss watch The Office! the first season can be kinda tough to get through but after that…it is like a warm, hilarious hug.

      ah thaaaank you!! ❤ so kind

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Dorethea says:

    is it possible to get these as a workable document? I would like to translate them into German for our community. With all credits for the original author and designer of course :)Most impoprtant point is choosing words

    Like

plz give me attention