It’s party time!: We Speak in Storms review + a happy list + all around blog tour fun!!

IT’S ALIIIIIIIVE.

“It,” of course, being my blog.

I don’t know how y’all feel about my constant comings and goings here, with each coming containing a solemn vow that the goings have stopped, immediately followed by an utter lack of posts lasting weeks if not months…but I feel pretty good about it.

By which I naturally mean that I hate it with my life.

I am not going to promise here that this marks my return to your regularly scheduled blogging (lol at the idea that I ever posted according to a regular schedule), because that seems like a curse.

I will say, however, that I miss writing here and I miss all of you and I had a lot of fun writing about this post.

But without further ado.

The main attraction.

Daring Debuts BlogBanner

I am part of an Extremely Cool blog tour for four super-diverse, super-unique YA debuts being published by Penguin Random House this fall. All of them sound fantastic, but the one I will be talking about today is…

Drumroll please…

Act like you didn’t read the post title (and maybe you didn’t – I don’t know your life)…

WE SPEAK IN STORMS!

Let’s get into it!!

 



 🌷🌿🌷 Synopsis 🌷🌿🌷

A powerful and haunting debut novel about friendship, acceptance, and learning to let go as the balance between the living and the dead is upended, perfect for fans of We Were Liars.

It’s been more than 50 years since a tornado tore through a drive-in movie theater in tiny Mercer, Illinois, leaving dozens of teens — a whole generation of Mercerites — dead in its wake. So when another tornado touches down in the exact same spot on the anniversary of this small-town tragedy, the town is shaken. For Brenna Ortiz, Joshua Calloway, and Callie Keller, the apprehension is more than just a feeling. Though they seem to share nothing more than a struggle to belong, the teens’ paths continue to intersect, bringing them together when they least expect it, and perhaps, when they need it most. Both the living and the dead have secrets and unresolved problems, but they may be able to find peace and move forward–if only they work together.

A beautifully told, haunting yet hopeful novel about pushing past the pain, facing the world, and finding yourself.

 



🌷🌿🌷 Review 🌷🌿🌷

Screen Shot 2018-08-18 at 1.30.28 AM

Here is what you should pay attention to about that synopsis: “Friendship.” “Balance between the living and the dead is upended.” “They may be able to find peace and move forward – if only they work together.” “Haunting yet hopeful.”

Basically, pay attention to everything except “perfect for fans of We Were Liars.”

We Were Liars is a book that has one good thing about it: a fun twist. That’s it.

This is a book about friendship, about pain, about love and life and death and acceptance and tragedy and family and suffering and letting go.

We Speak in Storms.jpgThat is a book about “what if this crazy thing happened, and that’s it. That’s the whole book.”

I have said before that magical realism, when well-executed, is my favorite genre. By far. The genre I read most is contemporary, and the genre that disappoints me with the greatest consistency is contemporary. Magical realism is contemporary + magic in a believable way.

What’s not to love.

This is an example of some really lovely magical realism. Sure, the first two hundred pages of this were so boring that I could often be found moping about my home, complaining to all who would hear about the arduous task ahead of me.

But the remaining 250 pages…my friends, prepare for a JOURNEY.

Of all the aforementioned things, plus some quirky teens and a hefty dose of paranormal activity.

What a dream.

Bottom line: A book that makes me Feel Things and also has ghosts in it?! Sign me the hell up.

Order We Speak in Storms (which came out September 3!) here

 



🌷🌿🌷 A list of cool things about this book 🌷🌿🌷

I do not get to talk about things I enjoy very often, so when I do, I latch on.

While, as mentioned, this book did make me grump about for approximately one hour, the rest of it was fairly delightful. In a soul-sucking, emotional-rollercoaster type way.

Let’s list some good things!

  1. GHOSTS. I love ghosts. I love Buzzfeed Unsolved (supernatural version only); I love watching Ghost Adventures (although only with my sisters and only to laugh and try to perfect our ghost hunter impressions); I love when people tell me about times they’re convinced they’ve seen a ghost. It’s all a blast.
  2. Magical realism. As anyone who has encountered my Emily Henry lovefests (so anyone who’s ever read this blog) knows, I love magical realism. BRING ON THE MAGIC.
  3. Realistic characters. The characters in this are so FULL, you guys. Your heart will ache for them. Heartache is not something that is normally categorized as cool, but full characters always are.
  4. TITLE. No one can say this is not the raddest title you have read in at least the last 47 minutes.
  5. Friendship, not romance! While I love the occasionally fluffy YA romance as much as the next person (and probably more), I more often get so tired of everysinglebook including an unnecessary romance that it makes me want to go to sleep for a very very long time. Perhaps a coma type situation. This book contains lovely new friendships and absolutely no romance. A delight.

Thanks to Penguin Random House for the copy! We Speak in Storms is out now.

Screen Shot 2018-01-04 at 11.25.22 AM

What are your thoughts on magical realism? Do you have a genre that you love like I love it?

If magical realism is that genre for you too, please recommend me exemplary books. I am forever looking.

24 thoughts on “It’s party time!: We Speak in Storms review + a happy list + all around blog tour fun!!

  1. Elizabeth says:

    Um, I am always so happy when I see a post from you!!! I need to be reminded that critical reading exists and your unmatched humor. Also, We Speak in Storms sounds really good and how had I not heard of it before?

    Liked by 1 person

    • emmareadstoomuch says:

      SGAHJDGHASJDGAHJS ily. i miss your posts. i need to come back for seeing-your-blog reasons alone!!!

      it was…a really cool read??? this is a great blog tour i loved it

      Like

  2. Kelly | Another Book in the Wall says:

    *squishes in hug* YOU HAVE BEEN VERY MISSED BY ME, EMMA! ❤ I love this review so much! Okay, so I was bored to death by We Were Liars until that beautiful twist at the end. Seeing its mention in the synopsis had me a bit nervous at first, but I'm so glad that you thought this novel is much better than We Were Liars! Magical realism is a hit and miss for me too, so it's great to know that it's wonderfully executed in We Speak in Storms! And a huge YAY for friendships! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • emmareadstoomuch says:

      HI i’m really trying not to leave again but i have to wrap up like almost 50 books (again) and…i am a procrastinator by nature. but the idea of being able to see more of you on the reg is too good to pass up

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Sophie @ Blame Chocolate says:

    Ugh I hate when publishers think it’s okay to bait us into buying books by comparing them to other books THAT HAVE NOTHING IN COMMON WITH THEM. Seriously, please stop.
    I don’t mind your coming and goings as long as you don’t stop coming back after you go. You feel me?
    Also this book sounds cool, I might check it out!

    Liked by 1 person

    • emmareadstoomuch says:

      omg like WHY IS EVERY BOOK “SIX OF CROWS” LATELY. it’s one of the only comparisons i can’t stop falling for and my heart grows more bitter every time.

      i’m working right now on trying to figure out a way i can make my posting more consistent! (very low bar.) hopefully back soon. v sweet of you to say ❤

      it was a cool read! honestly cooler than i expected.

      Liked by 1 person

      • emmareadstoomuch says:

        OMG YOU HAVEN’T?? girl. read read read! (you will not regret it.) (i hope.)

        loool it’s the constant blogger’s problem

        Like

plz give me attention

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s