BookTube-a-thon 2017: The TBR

I don’t watch BookTube. I don’t have anything against it, exactly, but I don’t watch it. (The whole time I’m like, somebody punch someone! Let a comedian pop up through a trapdoor! But no, they just very adorably and charmingly unbox books or talk about them or whatever.) (Yes, this is exactly as advertised. What, am I not allowed to complain without justification anymore?!)

Anyway.

In spite of my inherent neutrality toward BookTube, I really need a readathon in my life. So after reading the super cool Jamieson’s TBR, I decided to copy her. Yay.

BookTube-a-thon runs from Monday, July 24 to Sunday, July 30. Since this runs until the literal day before I wouldn’t be able to do it anymore, I took this as a sign.

And here we are.

Anyway. BookTube-a-thon gives you a series of prompts that you attempt to complete in the duration of a week. You know. Like all readathons.

I’m sorry I’m wo-man-splaining readathons to you.

I’m just going to start now, if that’s okay.

 


PROMPT #1: READ A BOOK WITH A PERSON ON THE COVER

20257177

DREAM THIEVES DREAM THIEVES DREAM THIEVES.

We’ve got a person on the cover in a big way. Ronan’s ugly mug takin’ up a good third of that cover. It could have more birds on it, you guys. The stakes couldn’t be higher.

Okay, yes. I will be reading The Dream Thieves, hopefully, after really liking (just typed “realling) The Raven Boys.

No, I haven’t reviewed it yet.

My life isn’t really together right now, per se.

 

 


PROMPT #2: READ A HYPED BOOK

8490112

Looks like I’ll be attempting to become the last person on Earth to read Daughter of Smoke & Bone.

Confession: I didn’t even buy this for myself. It was given to me, and I accepted it. Like how you’d accept a few M&Ms if they’d already been dropped into your hand and it’s easier to just toss ’em in your mouth than to go through the whole bizarre process of removing three small candy-covered chocolates from your grasp and returning them to another person.

I think that about captures my level of enthusiasm.

I hope I get so embarrassed looking back at this. Like, How did past-me not know the joys of this book?

 


PROMPT #3: FINISH A BOOK IN ONE DAY

32337619

I won Henry and the Chalk Dragon in a Goodreads giveaway a few months ago, so I should probs get to it. (I am the worst and never read the books I win in giveaways. I am sure that Goodreads hates me and has crafted a new random-selection algorithm that excludes only my account.)

It’s a lil middle grade book and if I cannot finish it in a day then something is seriously wrong and you should call someone. Not the police because they would be mad about the “”waste of their time.”” Ooh, call Spiderman. I’m not located in the greater NYC area, but I just saw the movie on Friday night and I…enjoyed it.

Okay, yes, Tom Holland and I are officially dating. We’d like to ask that you respect our privacy at this time. (And no, the fact that I’m not confident that that’s his name is not a reflection upon the verity of our love.)

 


PROMPT #4: READ ABOUT A CHARACTER WHO IS VERY DIFFERENT FROM YOU

7197913

Um, every character. No one wants to read about an uncertain 19-year-old INTJ who romps around the suburbs with friends by day and screams about books on the Internet by night.

But I’ll say The Wide Awake Princess for this one, because while Princess Annie is wide awake, I am perpetually sleepy.

This is another middle grade that’s been on my TBR forever and it’s by the author of one of my favorite childhood series. Yay.

Something about me that doesn’t really fit with the persona I’ve crafted my personality is that I really like middle grade. Middle grade adventure is the best.

 


PROMPT #5: READ A WHOLE BOOK OUTDOORS

29081916

Nooooooooooo! There are so many reasons I don’t want to do this. One, it’s ninety plus degrees here. And humid. And sunny.

Two, my vampiric skin resists the sun.

Three, my vampiric personality resists exposure to…nature. *shiver*

Does it count if I hang a toe out the window through the duration of the book?

Whatever. I have a ton of short stories by Steinbeck and Wilde on my TBR, so I’ll get to one of those.

Ugh. Classic BookTube, those book-inclined extroverts.

 


PROMPT #6: READ A BOOK YOU BOUGHT FOR THE COVER

23272028

Oh, so every book?

I did buy A Study in Charlotte partially for the cover but mostly on impulse, so I’ll try to check that box.

I don’t think I’m going to like this book very much? I bought it while I was riding the high of a Book Outlet coupon. FIVE DOLLARS OFF IN ADDITION TO THOSE ALREADY ASTOUNDING DEALS? You crazy for this, Book Outlet.

But I hope I like this. Sherlock Holmes is…fine.

Oh, hang on, I’m getting a call…Hello? Oh, really, the results are in? Wow, I got it? Um, okay. Yeah, thanks for letting me know!

You guys, I won! I’m officially the most irritating person on the face of the planet!

 


PROMPT #7: READ SEVEN BOOKS

Uh, okay. I mean, there are sixty others I can choose from.

I may try to get to Falling Kingdoms. Or Station Eleven. Or otherwise The Last Letter from Your Lover. Or perhaps The Disenchantments or The Anatomical Shape of a Heart, if I feel like a contemporary.

Who knows. I’ll leave myself open on that one.

 


Man oh man. I hope I can pull this off. I feel like the nervous character in the entourage of a heist movie. The one who’s popping mysterious pills and mopping sweat from his brow and spilling glasses of water. Inevitably has a line about being too old or tired or dumb for this sh*t.

O-kay. It’s three-thirty a.m. and I’m writing a heist movie, so I’m going to retire. (Update: It was three-thirty a.m. as I wrote this post. Currently it’s three-forty-five p.m. Hurray, normal posting hours!)

Are any of you participating in BookTube-a-thon?

Is there a book I should start with???

12 thoughts on “BookTube-a-thon 2017: The TBR

  1. Emma says:

    I’m not taking part in the Booktube-a-thon, but the Biannual Bibliothan starts tomorrow, and I’m doing that (as you know). I wish you luck with your readathon! I read the Wide-Awake Princess, and I didn’t like it much, but you might like it more. 😀

    And, thanks for that comment you left on my Goodreads page. 💜 Seriously, I couldn’t stop smiling after I read it. Thank you for being such an awesome friend. 🤜🏻🤛🏽

    Liked by 1 person

    • emmareadstoomuch says:

      ah you deserve it! you’re seriously great and i very much appreciate you 🙂

      i don’t know a lot about the Biannual Bibliothon but i hope it goes well for ya!! have fun!!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. my1stchapter says:

    who the heck thought it was a good idea to have a prompt of “read a book outdoors” in july ??? i’m barely leaving my bedroom these days bc i cannot stand the heat ;-; this is a tragedy.

    good luck with the booktube-a-thon, it sounds like so much fun !!

    Liked by 1 person

    • emmareadstoomuch says:

      thanks man u da best!!! & ik seriously it’s just ridiculous. i’m never exactly enthused about nature anyways but in the dead of summer? get outta here

      Liked by 1 person

  3. jamishelves says:

    Heyy cool tbr! I love that you’ve got an Oscar Wilde book on there he’s great. A Study in Charlotte is on my tbr, but I’ve heard so many mixed things about it I’m not sure about reading it now aah. Would be interested to see what your thoughts are on it

    Liked by 1 person

    • emmareadstoomuch says:

      i’ve heard mixed things on A Study in Charlotte too!! but that coooooover. we’ll see i guess. thank ya!!!!

      Like

  4. Em says:

    I totally got A Study in Charlotte just for the cover too! I can’t wait to hear what you think of it! I still haven’t read it yet…. oops 🙂

    Like

  5. TheReadersBay says:

    Haha don’t you worry, I haven’t read Daughter of Smoke and Bone too. Hell, I haven’t even read Court of Thorns and Roses (don’t judge me ok? I never really seem to like all of these hyped books so I’m generally scared of picking them up to read)
    I’m participating in the Read-a-thin challenge! Check out my blog for my August TBR!

    Liked by 1 person

    • emmareadstoomuch says:

      ACoTaR hasn’t been my cup of tea…and i still haven’t picked up A Daughter of Smoke and Bone 😮 maybe someday. i’ll check out your post!

      Like

Leave a Reply

