Top Ten Tuesday – 2017 Favorites (So Far)

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s prompt is favorite books of the year so far! Have I given ten five star ratings this year? Of course not. But we’ll figure it out as we go.

This is my first Top Ten Tuesday! I’m already very into it. I freaking love lists. Also, I am instantly into the idea of not posting reviews all the time. It makes me feel very chill and fun and low-maintenance. WHICH I TOTALLY AM. Don’t call me on that.

Alright, let’s get into it! Here are my top ten favorites so far this year, in order from least to most fantastic-great-amazing. But I recommend all of these, obvs. Just…some more than others. (Only #1-5 actually got five star ratings.)

All the titles will be linked tomy reviews!

 

10. Who Thought This Was a Good Idea?: And Other Questions You Should Have the Answer to When You Work in the White House

51UixzlGEcL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

This was a fun book, but not as fun as I thought it would be. But I love politics and powerful ladies and women in politics, so I can’t not give this a high rating/rank it here. Plus who knows how many light memoirs of political careers we’ll get NOW? World too busy being destroyed.

4/5

 

 

9. Dracula

26883562.jpg

 

Super fun, as far as classics go. I had a great time analyzing this in class. So much so that I selected it for every assignment for which it was an option.

Vampiric good times.

4/5

 

 

 

8. A Million Junes

5109g6rOHpL._SX334_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

 

I JUST reviewed this book. Like, yesterday. So you know how beautiful and amazing and magical this book is. The first half or two thirds or so of this book is totally five stars…but the second bit is like 2.5 or 3. Can’t win em all. Still, though: READ THIS!

4/5

 

 

7. Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire

harry-potter-and-the-goblet-of-fire-free-audiobook-download.jpg

 

My third favorite Harry Potter book during this reread – so far! (Although let’s be honest – do we really think Deathly Hallows is going to beat this one out? Emotions will never beat magic tournaments for me.)

4.5/5

 

 

6. We Should All Be Feminists

download-3.jpg

 

Totally a book that everyone has to read in their lifetime. (Also, it’s like half a page long. You could clear fifteen minutes between books and finish this one.) I’m not big into nonfiction or speeches, honestly, so it wasn’t a full five stars, BUT I’M GOING TO GET A LIST OF EVERYONE WHO HASN’T READ THIS AND START KNOCKING ON DOORS. THREATENINGLY. (What would a threatening knock sound like? Asking for a friend.)

4.5/5

 

And now into the actual five star ratings!

 

5. Ready Player One

download-4.jpg

 

 

Definitely the most imperfect of the books I’ve given five stars in 2017. Like, in retrospect, I kind of can’t believe I did that. But hey, past-me raved over this one, and it was definitely fascinating and fun, so why not? Give this a try – I’ve never read anything like it.

5/5

 

 

 

4. The Graveyard Book

51wXIxEhA3L._SX326_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

Another one where I can’t SUPER remember why I gave it five stars – I think more for a lack of discernible flaws than, like, any huge love for it. (This is the me-est thing that has ever happened. I’m complaining about my fourth-favorite book of the year. I am the worst. Someone stop me.) I will say I want to read every Gaiman book ever now, so that’s cool.

5/5

 

 

 

Okay…now I can’t rank it anymore so here’s a three-way tie for first.

 

1. Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince

51NbOxBO+BL.jpg

 

MY FAVORITE HARRY POTTER BOOK. I know I just said magic tournaments > emotions, but that’s not necessarily the case. THIS BOOK IS LEAPS AND BOUNDS BETTER THAN GOBLET OF FIRE. It literally wrecked me for like two (2) days, and that never happens. Trying to do stat problems and lit essays when this book ended the way it did was Unreal.

5/5

 

 

1. Northanger Abbey

large_9780141197715.jpg

 

JANE AUSTEN, COMING THRU YET AGAIN. In the 4 books of hers I’ve read (this, Pride & Prejudice, Persuasion, Sense & Sensibility) only S&S has ever disappointed. AND THAT WAS STILL A FOUR-STAR DISAPPOINTMENT. She’s the greatest, and this book is up there with the best of ’em. Super funny, and well-structured, and great characters. I’m not typically a swooner, but when it comes to Henry Tilney, all I can say is…swoon.

5/5

 

 

 

1. Live from New York: The Complete, Uncensored History of Saturday Night Live as Told by its Stars, Writers, and Guests

51m2FR9ORvL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

 

Lately I’ve taken to calling myself a comedy nerd pretty often. I’m sure it’s very annoying, but I’ve really latched onto it. I HAVE A TERM FOR WHAT I THOUGHT WAS JUST A WIDE-RANGING OBSESSION.

SNL is in my top…8 comedy TV shows (this may not sound impressive, but it is). Reading this book was so amazing. I can only describe it as being like gossiping with some of the greatest comedians and writers and celebrities of the last 50 years.

In other words, THE BEST. It’s 800 pages and I would’ve read it for thousands. I wish every show and movie had a book like this.

5/5

 

Coming in just under the wire! Only forty-five minutes left of Tuesday. I should’ve written this yesterday, instead of leaving it when the only time I had to write it was after 10:15 p.m.

Enough complaining about myself. You already know I’m a monster.

So – what are your favorite books of the year so far? Have you read any of mine?

Catch you tomorrow, pals. I’m really having a great posting week.

9 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – 2017 Favorites (So Far)

  1. alanjnicholas says:

    The Graveyard Book is pretty low on my list of Gaiman books…so…you HAVE to read The Ocean at the End of the Lane.

    And you have to read the Sandman comics.

    Then you SHOULD read Stardust, Neverwhere, American Gods, Good Omens, and everything else!!!

    Like

  2. Cait @ Paper Fury says:

    Oh oh I do love the Harry Potter books! I definitely have the last 2 five stars and eeeeep SO MUCH EXCITE. I also want to read We Should All Be Feminists someday because I already thoroughly agree with the title.😂 And The Graveyard Book is SO GOOD. My favourite Gaiman novel!

    Liked by 1 person

    • emmareadstoomuch says:

      ugh yes! we should all be feminists is amazing, esp. because i feel like i hear from white feminists constantly so it was amazing hearing from a black woman. YES to the graveyard book, i so need more gaiman after this

      Like

    • emmareadstoomuch says:

      ahh it’s so good! granted i’ve never given jane austen less than 4 stars – and that was only once – but i looooved it.

      thank you so much!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

