15 Books I’ve Been Saying I’ll Read Since the Beginning of Time

Sup, fools? I’m trying something a lil new today. In my recent (very fruitful) endeavors to actually, you know, read the posts of the people I follow, I’ve found I’m just as into their tag posts and lists and other fun stuff as their reviews…if not more so. And whenever I see something I like, I just have to take it for myself, so here we go! It’s a whole new age, guys.

I obsessively remove books from my to-be-read. While a lot of people on Goodreads languish under the weight of 1000+ books on their TBR, I am the full-on opposite. Currently, mine is a carefully cultivated 87 – and I own 64 of them.

You can applaud, if you want. Personally I took a three-minute break after writing that to pat myself on the back.

Anyway, if I feel even the slightest reluctance to read a book, I take it right off my bookshelf and throw it in my closet. (No joke. Well, minus the throw part. There are 100+ unwanted books neatly stacked in my closet. Books > clothes.)

But these books have made it through countless sweeps. I am still convinced I’ll read them someday. So here they are – the 15 most long-lasting books on my TBR, from most recent (added a year ago) to oldest (THREE YEARS AGO!)

 

15441253-_sy540_

 

15. The Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard

I’m not going to lie: I’ve thought about removing this book. It’s not that I didn’t like Red Queen, it’s that…well, I don’t remember it at all. ‘Twas boring, or forgetful, or something. In order to pick up this book, I’d need to reread the first one (sounds like a lotta work) or find a really good recap (ughhhh, I hate trying). And honestly, when I’m in the mood for fantasy, this one doesn’t come to mind. And so it has languished on my shelf – looking very pretty, at least!

 

 

 

51tmfgrj45l

 

14. Sarah’s Key by Tatiana de Rosnay

I found this book on sale for 35 cents immediately after watching the movie in a French class, so I was like “Whoa! It’s a sign!” (Apparently I believed in signs a little over a year ago.)

But honestly, I already know the story. So I never feel all that motivated to get into it all over again. There’s new tales to be read, bro!

 

 

 

s-l300

13. The last three books in the Bloodlines series, by Richelle Mead

I really liked the Vampire Academy series, back in a simpler time, so I slogged through the first three Bloodlines books even though Sydney is no Rose Hathaway. I’d have to start from scratch and honestly? I don’t know if I’m strong enough. I’d rather reread Vampire Academy and face the potential tragedy of not liking it.

 

17675462

 

12. The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

I am often asked, Emma, from where do you source the millions of dollars it must take to sustain such an impressive book collection? From bank heists alongside a ragtag group of good-looking misfits, Six of Crows-style? Or is it somehow on the merits of your charm and good looks alone? Neither, my dear child. I buy pretty much 100% of my books from Book Outlet. And despite the fact that I’ve heard nothing but good things about The Raven Boys, it’s never been for sale on Book Outlet.

So we wait.

 

 

17668473

 

11. Prisoner of Night and Fog by Anne Blankman

I used to say historical fiction was my favorite genre. I almost always like it when I pick it up…but I never pick it up.

I just haven’t been in the mood to read this book. I’ll get there. I don’t really have much to say about it.

Except that the face on the cover of this book gets more and more unsettling the longer you look. How much is animated? And more importantly, WHY IS SHE WEARING EYELINER WITHOUT MASCARA?!

 

 

51sia1m0lcl-_sy344_bo1204203200_

 

 

10. The Bronze Horseman by Paullina Simons

Again, hasn’t been on Book Outlet.

This is #NotSpons, by the way. God I wish. Book Outlet, if you’re out there, please sponsor me. Jane Austen knows I could use the assistance with the purchases. (That’s my version of “God knows.” Currently in beta.)

 

 

 

 

51vfhelickl-_sx327_bo1204203200_

 

 

9. Above Us Only Sky by Michele Young-Stone

This was a gift, I think. I’m not particularly interested in it but it’s, like, 200 pages long so I figure someday I’ll finally try to catch up with my reading challenge and power through this bad boy.

More importantly, it seems like I’ve been 8 books behind my reading challenge since January. WHEN WILL THIS SUFFERING END? This must be purgatory.

 

 

 

61k33tu1cal

 

8. Catch-22 by Joseph Heller

THIS BOOK IS A MONSTER. I think I need to just set myself a ration of like, 50 pages a day minimum or something. That way I’ll be done as soon as 2024.

Also, I consistently like classics more than any other genre (they’re classic for a REASON) and literally never pick them up.

And I always hate contemporaries but TRY to catch me reading anything else.

I’m logical like that.

 

 

 

2971246

 

 

 

7 & 6. The Sun Also Rises and For Whom the Bell Tolls by Ernest Hemingway

Yup.

Thus continues the “Emma is bad at reading classics” portion of the event.

Don’t you go thinking it’s over, either. It only gets worse from here.

 

 

 

 

7181805

 

5 & 4. Mansfield Park and Emma, by Jane Austen

Okay. I have an excuse on this one.

I looooove Jane Austen sosososo much (I just used her name instead of God!) but I’m rationing her books. I only have these two and Love & Freindship (sic) to go, and man, does the latter even count?

Anyway. It’s not like old Janie’s going to drop a book in 2018. But can you IMAGINE? Way more exciting than the publication of that forgotten Dr. Seuss book a bit ago.

#ResurrectJaneAusten2k17

 

 

6296632

 

3. Great Expectations by Charles Dickens

I’ve probably owned this book for 6 years. I need to be honest with myself and say that I don’t know if I’m ever going to read it.

But how could I get rid of it?! Look at that cover. Man oh man. Penguin clothbound classics will be the end of me someday.

Hopefully said demise will be through future-me being, like, crushed by my complete collection of them. That’s a good way to go out.

 

 

 

 

17352580

 

 

 

2. Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë

If I’m reading a romance novel from the nineteenth century that is widely considered a classic, IT’S GOING TO BE JANE AUSTEN. And I’m not sorry for that.

 

 

 

 

 

 

136251

 

1. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by JK Rowling

This HAS to have some shock factor. Right?! Like, you’re all, mehhh…one classic after the other…and I’m all, BOOM. The finale to one of the best loved series of all time. Get wrecked.

Sooo. I started rereading this series in December. Not really “re”reading, because I hadn’t touched the things in 10 years. But still.

It all went well and dandy until I read Half-Blood Prince and MY HEART WAS DESTROYED. At first, I didn’t want to finish the series. Now, I’m just kinda like…eh.

We’ll get there. I have to soon, otherwise I’ll have to reread the series AGAIN. Can you imagine?

 

 

SO. I did it, guys! Here we are.

Couple Qs:

  1. Should I keep posting non-review stuff every once in awhile?
  2. WHICH OF THESE SHOULD I PRIORITIZE?

Thank ya for suffering through this post. Sound off in the comments below! (That made me feel like a YouTuber, and frankly, I loved it.)

20 thoughts on “15 Books I’ve Been Saying I’ll Read Since the Beginning of Time

      • frankielovely says:

        congrats on the successful ban lol
        Same honestly … I am the worst when it comes to not buying books!

        Do you use an online library ebooks system at all like Overdrive?

        Like

      • emmareadstoomuch says:

        yes sometimes! i’ve been doing it more frequently of late but that series is so flippin’ pretty that my cold vain heart wants to buy it lol

        Liked by 1 person

      • frankielovely says:

        I only own The Raven King as of right now but I definitely want the whole series on my shelf!!!

        Well I’m excited to know what you think of the series when you get around to reading it 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  1. windowsillbooksblog says:

    Oh my gosh, I love the title of this post! Definitely made me laugh! But yes, like everyone else has said, READ THE RAVEN BOYS! So, so good!

    And The Bronze Horseman has been on my TBR forever too! I haven’t met someone who has read and didn’t rave it about it yet!

    Like

  2. Nova says:

    I personally like non-review things! A little mix of both is usually what I enjoy. As for prioritizing… well, aside from Harry Potter (it hurts but it’s so good) and The Raven Boys (if you’re waiting for Book Outlet then that’s reasonable), which are two of my favorite series ever, I’ll have to say you should prioritize one of Austen’s books, because it’s Jane Austen. Rationing can only go so long 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. aravenclawlibrary says:

    Honestly, I wouldn’t bother with Wuthering Heights. It’s not that it’s awful…it’s just that the characters are awful. lol. But a lot of those books on your list are ones that I need to read as well. I def need to be picking up more classics but man, I struggle with them. Good post though. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • emmareadstoomuch says:

      tbh the only reason it’s still on my shelf is that it’s always called a must-read-in-a-lifetime book, and i’m a sucker for those. maybe i’ll suffer through it eventually 😛 thank ya!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. ewesnat617 says:

    I actually haven’t read any of these (yet). I think you should read the one that you feel most motivated to read; I think it’s really hard to read a book that you aren’t in the mood for. And, yes, I do think you should post non-review stuff – it makes people laugh. 😂

    Like

  5. delphinethebabbler says:

    HAHAH – OMG – I loved reading this post, your humor is effortlessly hilarious, especially your 3 minute patty-back break 😉
    Likewise, I own much of the books I read just cause I like being able to put more books on my shelf and have the opportunity to go back to should I want. That being said, I have soooo many books on my shelf that I have yet to read or have been started but not finished. I actually only bought some because the cover was super cool and pretty. I never stuff away books in my closet (hehe), but will add them to the bottom of my shelf so I don’t have to look at them immediately with discontentment.
    To answer your question… YES! More discussions please, your blog is fab!
    I would personally prioritize Great Expectations… It’s my favorite work from Dickens, along with David Copperfield because, even though it’s a narrative, there’s so much realism going on and its such an enjoyable read despite Dickens’ overly descriptive writing style.
    I look forward to reading more from you in the future… Happy Reading. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

